xboxscene.org forums

Author Topic: Help Me Create A Jtag Wiring Shopping List  (Read 116 times)

-duran-

• Archived User
Help Me Create A Jtag Wiring Shopping List
« on: February 02, 2020, 08:19:00 PM »

Well I have a mastercraft 20-40 watt solder station and that is it.

So could someone post a complete n00b wiring guide and tell me everything I will need to buy (solder type, flux, de-solder braid, resistors, wires, etc.)? Or aren't there some kits that don't require soldering on the xbox motherboard?

Anyways, I plan on practicing my soldering on a dead mobo before i touch the xbox (IMG:style_emoticons/default/wink.gif)

Thanks.

majik655

• Archived User
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2020, 08:38:00 PM »

QUOTE(-duran- @ Jan 25 2011, 07:19 PM) *

Well I have a mastercraft 20-40 watt solder station and that is it.

So could someone post a complete n00b wiring guide and tell me everything I will need to buy (solder type, flux, de-solder braid, resistors, wires, etc.)? Or aren't there some kits that don't require soldering on the xbox motherboard?

Anyways, I plan on practicing my soldering on a dead mobo before i touch the xbox (IMG:style_emoticons/default/wink.gif)

Thanks.

Go to radio shack or a store like it,

Pick up a Male lpt connector (pick up 2 just in case 3$ each or so)
Pick up a roll of .30 gauge wire
pick up the resistors and diodes needed per tutorial you are going by.
pick up a roll of Rosin-Core solder (.032 diameter)
Pick up some flux
Pick up a roll of de-soldering braid

This is a good way to make your own 7 pin lpt connector by buying those lpt connectors, then you do not need to mess with cutting a lpt cable and hoping it works.

You should also have a multimeter handy (not needed more than likely unless you are cutting a lpt cable to do the wiring)  its just good to have.

Here is a link showing how I wire up the lpt connector..
Link to Making own lpt cable

red_ring_of_box

• Archived User
« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2020, 09:01:00 PM »