xboxscene.org forums

Author Topic: X-b.i.t Solder  (Read 123 times)

creepyoldman

• Archived User
X-b.i.t Solder
« on: June 01, 2004, 08:52:00 PM »

I have given up trying to line up the DO pin. my chip's light comes on when I turn on my xbox, but it loads the original dashboard and the light around the eject button is solid green. I got the software to work, and i verified the bios. just seems as if it's not being detected. so i've decided to solder the chip in, but I have a few questions before I do. Mind you, I am a noob, so please be patient. what is the benifits of soldering versus not? and what do the instructions mean by insulate the pins? insulate with what? any advice would help. :uhh:

xgeek

• Archived User
X-b.i.t Solder
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2004, 01:22:00 AM »

LoL well you will only notice a difference if the bios is Xecuter2 or If its a EvoX coloured Bios

Bios's arent friggin dasboards and none of the current mainstream bios's will change the LED Colour (Its people who mess with XBTool and custom bios's)

If you dont know how to solder an Xbox is a bad place to start . You can solder the Xbit in three ways

With Wires - Its a cradle with 11 wires
With The HeaderPins - The long pointy things attached to the chip (shite on the Xbit , dont do a header installation)
Quick Solder - Soldering the Pogo pins (i think lol, never looked into it)

Soldering has benefits because the modchip wont come loose but , and this is a big but. You could kill your xbox if you dont know what your doing

You need the correct tools
15W Soldering iron
1MM Tip for that (Pencil)
30AWG Solder (easier)
Flux (Makes solder stick)
Solder Braid (for removing the Solder out of LPC Holes , i have loads of solder braid its invaluable for any pro installer)
FibreGlass Pen (for D0 Preperation)
MultiMeter (For checking continuity in your points)

I would reccomend the wire for the XBiT cause the headers are shite and ive never done a quick solder so i cant comment on that