xboxscene.org forums

Author Topic: 100hz Television  (Read 69 times)

Arius

• Archived User
100hz Television
« on: July 26, 2004, 06:26:00 AM »

Some light guns have a problem with 100hz sets.

I have one, and other than that I have never (in 4 years +) had a problem with it

Chancer

• Archived User
100hz Television
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2004, 10:41:00 AM »

If you can get a 50HZ get a 50HZ. I repair these things for a living and let me say 100hz scan is pants. If you get fast moving action like a football match you will see a visible trail in 100hz mode from any fast moving object against a static background. the picture also looks artificailly plastic on close ups. the repairs are more expensive if it goes wrong(2 Line output transistors etc etc)
The man at Comet or the shop will tell you they are great and sure some people will watch and not know the diffrence but if you pick up on some of the design weaknesses it will bug you. Also the flicker is more visible than on a 50HZ scan tv which was the one thing it was supposed to cure.
Get a good 50hz Panasonic or something similar, stay clear of Goodmans, Alba, Bush, Daewoo, LG, Matsui etc as these are the sets that keep me in business.
The Panasonic will play 60hz NTSC as well no problem.

Scaramanga

• Archived User
100hz Television
« Reply #2 on: July 26, 2004, 01:48:00 PM »

What are you talking about?
More flicker in a 100hz? bullshit.
Set your computer monitor to 100hz and then to 50hz and notice the diffrence.
It is exactly the same with TV monitors.
The diffrence between 50hz and 100hz tvs is very noticeable.
Myself, I got a 100hz toshiba. No problems and much easier for the eyes.

No_Name

• Archived User
100hz Television
« Reply #3 on: July 26, 2004, 02:27:00 PM »

I have a 50Hz convex ,
My house mate has a 100Hz Pure flat