xboxscene.org forums

Author Topic: Increasing Your Bandwidth For Better Online Gaming  (Read 206 times)

streaker68

• Archived User
Increasing Your Bandwidth For Better Online Gaming
« on: June 01, 2004, 11:40:00 AM »

What is spyware and Adware and where do we get it?
Ok as a computer technician I see alot of things on people's computers and one that I see the most is SPYWARE and ADWARE. Many of you already know what this is but I'll go ahead and explain for those that do not. Spyware and adware are like low level viruses, they come from the internet in the form of free games/programs they're also in most of the cookies in your temporary internet files. If you read these programs EULA's they usually say something about monitoring and ads. You can also get them from clicking one of those grey boxes on a website that asks you a question (I recommend clicking the X to close those instead of yes or no). Spyware sends information about what you do on the internet to a company for marketing research, adware creates "popups" and makes them appear to be coming for the internet sites you are browsing. Also adware will come in the form of "search bars" changing of homepages etc. Spyware and adware destroy bandwidth and can severely effect playing online games.

Understanding MSCONFIG