xboxscene.org forums

Author Topic: Help Me Connect My Monitor Without Vga Cables  (Read 144 times)

lowendfrequency

• Archived User
Help Me Connect My Monitor Without Vga Cables
« on: December 07, 2005, 06:51:00 AM »

Well, I have a pretty nice flat glass TV but it's not HD and I don't plan on upgrading it anytime soon.  But I feel that if I'm not watching my 360 in HD that I'm missing out, so I'm hoping to connect it to my monitor.  Now, I'm a graphic artist and 3D designer so I have a pretty damn good monitor.  It's a Samsung SyncMaster 1100DF 21" CRT.  Now, I know I could just buy the VGA cable and be done with it but this monitor has component hookups in the rear (kind of). It has 5 extra plugs, 3 are labeled as RGB, one is labeled H/V and the other is labeled V.  The problem is that these are not RCA jacks.  They are similar, but they look like the center prong should be very thin, almost like a pin, while the outer metal ring looks like it would fit inside this plug instead of outside like a regular RCA style plug.   I've searched all over for info on these plugs but haven't been able to find anything useful.  

Here is a picture of what they look like :
(IMG:http://www.pctv.co.yu/hardware/slike/samsung1100df_3.jpg)

When I look up my specs for my input signal it looks like this:
Video signal
RGB Analog
Sync signal
Separate H/V, Composite, SOG
Horizontal Frequency
30-121 kHz
Vertical Frequency
50-160 Hz
Pixel Frequency
340 MHz
Signal Connection
15pin D-Sub+BNC

So I guess my question would be this... Is there some sort of converter or a simple male/female conversion connector I can place at the end of my component cables so I can view some HD360 glory?

Thanks in advance.

lowendfrequency

• Archived User
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2005, 07:30:00 AM »