xboxscene.org forums

Author Topic: Your Opinion: Disc Read Errors  (Read 30 times)

Jaegarath

• Archived User
Your Opinion: Disc Read Errors
« on: November 16, 2007, 02:14:00 AM »

Hey all,

I decided to flash my TS ms28 firmwar to ixtreme 1.3 today.  All went well (this is my first time doing this) - I didn't read much on the different speeds, and chose the 2x speed.  I have now tested out and verified that my 360 can play backup's.  However I've noticed a problem:

I've tried out my NHL08 and Mass Effect backups - both come up with the "your disc cannot be read, there may dust on it, rub it with a cloth, blah blah...." error after a small amount of playing time.  I also noticed that in NHL 08, when switching through teams, it takes a very long time for team logos to change.

So, in your opinion, are these issues due to:
a) having a slow ass 2x speed
B) having RiDATA 2.4x's instead of verbatim's.
c) both

Please fill me in, I would hate to have to re-flash up to a different speed (maybe 8x?) as the only VIA chipset I could find is a friends that's sorta annoying to get to.  

-Jaegarath

This post has been edited by Jaegarath: Nov 16 2007, 10:15 AM

cypher21

• Archived User
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2007, 02:20:00 AM »

QUOTE(Jaegarath @ Nov 16 2007, 09:14 AM) *

Hey all,

I decided to flash my TS ms28 firmwar to ixtreme 1.3 today.  All went well (this is my first time doing this) - I didn't read much on the different speeds, and chose the 2x speed.  I have now tested out and verified that my 360 can play backup's.  However I've noticed a problem:

I've tried out my NHL08 and Mass Effect backups - both come up with the "your disc cannot be read, there may dust on it, rub it with a cloth, blah blah...." error after a small amount of playing time.  I also noticed that in NHL 08, when switching through teams, it takes a very long time for team logos to change.

So, in your opinion, are these issues due to:
a) having a slow ass 2x speed