xboxscene.org forums

Author Topic: Spice Failure When "warm" - Poor Reliability?  (Read 101 times)

professorx_uk

• Archived User
Spice Failure When "warm" - Poor Reliability?
« on: April 15, 2005, 07:25:00 PM »

I am a newbie to the xbox mod scene and have just installed the spice on my xbox v1.4 (doubt if t's a 1.5). Fitting wasn't a problem...once I realised that earlier versions of the ice board and pictures show it pointing in the opposite direction to what it should be! Anyway, it powered up fine and I was in the Xanium OS, after several successful restarts I left the machine on for about 10 minutes whilst I prepared the bios on cdrw. I then restarted the xbox and got the red light status and the 3x boot with FRAG symptoms that a lot of people have experienced.
I also got to the M$ config to enter the date/time again suggesting that the memory had been reset in some way. Opening the cd tray whilst in this state was hit and miss.
I switched off/on the power several time with the same symptoms but once I had absolutely nothing, no video/sound only the constant read light of the xanium ice.

Disconnecting the ice board and leaving the adaptor connected allowed xbox to boot normally.

The next day however, I tried the xbox again and hey presto it worked again! This time I was able to install the altenate bios and boot from an EvolutionX cdrw smile.gif
However, after playing a while I went to restart the xbox and the problem is back sad.gif

Has anyone had similar experiences of this kind of thing and what could be the cause and/or cure ???

So far I havn't been impressed with the mod's reliability!

TIA

uhh.gif
 <

Dangerously_Cheesy

• Archived User
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2005, 10:08:00 PM »

there is no such thing as an xbox v1.5...but thats besides the point