xboxscene.org forums

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: I'm Sure This Has Been Asked Before But...  (Read 293 times)

666weasel

• Archived User
I'm Sure This Has Been Asked Before But...
« on: March 10, 2005, 01:53:00 PM »

Well I am pretty new to the more complex aspects of computers in general, but I remember reading somewhere that the reason for slow or buggy emulation etc can usually be boiled down to the fact that you have an Xbox emulating an N64 running an N64 game, like those Russian dolls that get smaller and smaller....the more layers to the process the less power to go go around......

total_ass

• Archived User
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2005, 02:03:00 PM »

This is explained in the pinned topic 'the final word on xbox emulation'

http://forums.xbox-s...showtopic=55857

What an emulator does is recreates the specific hardware for another system with software. And then that software runs on the hardware of the host system. So just imagine for a second. Two systems that are just about on par with each other as far as speed goes. The only way to get full speed would be to have the true hardware for the system. Software could never hope to emulate a system that is close to the same speed as the host hardware. For a good example, think of hardware rendering vs software rendering...which is faster? The hardware of course.

obviously that is referring to ps2, but it also applies to n64 and all other systems for that matter

VampX

• Archived User
« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2005, 03:15:00 PM »

Lets also not forget that N64 emulation is.. lacking

I once read that N64 emulation is bad because most of the emulation is based on game specific speedhacks instead of accurate emulation,
which results in lots of errors.

then again i only read it, i dont claim it to be true.

slowmaz

• Archived User
« Reply #3 on: March 10, 2005, 05:06:00 PM »