xboxscene.org forums

Author Topic: Benefits Of Upgrading Xeniumos  (Read 112 times)

5B2

• Archived User
Benefits Of Upgrading Xeniumos
« on: April 11, 2005, 05:49:00 AM »

Hey, I'm still fairly new at this and I could use a comment or two from more experienced users.
I have a ver 1.6 xbox and a Xenium Ice chip with OS 2.0.1 (I think). What are the benefits of upgrading to a newer version OS? Am I missing out on features or are there stability issues? Something else? I haven't discovered any flaws in the current OS...

Any comments (and perhaps a link to an upgrading tutorial) would be appreciated.

This post has been edited by 5B2: Apr 11 2005, 12:49 PM

Dangerously_Cheesy

• Archived User
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2005, 06:24:00 AM »

Well, with upgrading from 2.0.1 to any of the newer versions you are given an obvious updated OS with various bug fixes as well as a slew of other abilities.

You will find yourself with the ability to not only skin and add skins to the Xenium OS but also the ability to control the LED's color and sequencing.

There is no reason not to update really and there is a guide I wrote which walks you through both methods of updating and features a nice troubleshooting page :P

You can find the link in my sig :)

5B2

• Archived User
« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2005, 06:52:00 AM »

Great, thanks! PDF version and everything :)
Skinning and LED sequences are really cosmetics and not terribly interesting to me.

Are the known bugs serious at all?

Dangerously_Cheesy

• Archived User
« Reply #3 on: April 11, 2005, 07:03:00 AM »

Well...an RGB bug but...Well...that isn't an outright official bug...other than that....hrmmm....not really :) OH! sometimes when using a skin the OS will hang for a second in the beginning of boot...

5B2

• Archived User
« Reply #4 on: April 11, 2005, 07:04:00 AM »

Gnarly  ;)

spyman

• Archived User
« Reply #5 on: April 11, 2005, 08:55:00 AM »