xboxscene.org forums

Author Topic: Ack... I'm A Total Newbie...  (Read 576 times)

Avrame

• Archived User
Ack... I'm A Total Newbie...
« on: December 05, 2002, 09:00:00 PM »

Hi all.  I was shopping with my mom recently and she left me pick my christmas present this year.  I narrowed it down to a digi camera or an XBOX with controler s and JSRF and sega 2002.  well, of course i got the xbox, or i wouldn't be here.  I was wondering if the xecutor modchip would be a good choice for me, because the main reasons i want a modchip is so i would be able to load my xbox with mp3's, and anime avi's.  I already noticed with my cousin's xbox and myfriends that it wouldn't accept cdrs or cdrws, so i'm wonder if installing a modchip would do help?  I also see all of this softwares for download like x box media player, which allows it to play divx files and stuff.  you need a modchip to install those things right?  and last but not least, how big is the xbox harddrive?  I see pages on how to add a bigger harddrive and such, so does that mean that the HDD is incredibly small? like how many GBs is it?  and are you able to manage the HDD and delete old things like mp3s or what have you?

Thank you all for all of your help.
AvramE                                    

CentroniX

• Archived User
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2002, 09:29:00 PM »

In the amount of time it took you to sign up to this forum, you could have went to the tutorials page, http://www.xbox-scene.com/tutorials.php, and answered your own questions.  Do some research!  :D

A stock X-Box comes with an 8GB drive (some reports of 10GB).  You can NOT use CD-RW's until your box is modded.  You can NOT swap to a bigger hard drive without a mod chip.

XBox Media Player, X-Mame, xSnes9x, etc., etc., all require you to be able to run unsigned code.  Guess what it takes to run unsigned code?  A MOD CHIP!