xboxscene.org forums

Author Topic: X-bit Flashing  (Read 368 times)

Grifter[90]

• Archived User
X-bit Flashing
« on: October 05, 2005, 04:10:00 AM »

Hi all. I'm new, just registered. I'm new also at modifying my xbox. My choice fell on X-BIT chip because they say it's quite simple to flash and install, and it needs no soldering (probably I'd damage my xbox if I tried to solder something on the motherboard - I'm not an expert at all).
I only like to share my experience... maybe someone finds it useful.
So I bought the chip. As I tried to flash some bios on it the problems began  :)
I tried the 1.5 version of the flashing program but nothing good happened... when trying to format the flash memory it said "Format start" but nothing happened for ages. Plus, the 6 configuration appeared all to be selectable.
Then I tried the 1.0 flashing program... no success. I kept getting weird error messages about USB commands not performed correctly. Moreover... no light on the mini usb device (the one with dip switches).
Chip broken? Maybe... I read almost every post about flashing X-BIT 1.5 and I tried everything, but nothing significant happened. The only thing I've obtained is that, if I try to write a piece of the flash memory (for example using configuration 6 and M8 bios 256K) the chip lights but I can see no progress, and if I try to verify the flash the program crashes with an overflow error.
Today I've tried the same process with an older computer with Win 2K installed (before I was using WinXP)... nothing.
Mmmm... so what? While thinking about calling the person who sold me the chip, I took a glance at the hardware manager... no HID interface connected. Strange... but pushing the cable on the chip side strongly the HID interface appeared, releasing it disappeared... :)