xboxscene.org forums

Author Topic: Dvd Remote Contol Fix  (Read 449 times)

Digital_sin

  • Archived User
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 124
Dvd Remote Contol Fix
« on: January 05, 2005, 06:51:00 PM »

i fixed the dvd remote control bug, replace your default.xip with the one you'll find here, detailed instructions inside [its simple]

uix patch

http://www.darwish.8k.com/xboxpatch/

DiGiTaL_SiN
Logged

jsrlepage

  • Archived User
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 115
Dvd Remote Contol Fix
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2005, 07:17:00 PM »

would ya mind posting the code to replace? i don'T wanna lose my fixes.
Logged

basil

  • Archived User
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Dvd Remote Contol Fix
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2005, 07:28:00 PM »

Yes, please post the code.  Some of us would like the not so simple instructions.
Logged

Osanya

  • Archived User
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 65
Dvd Remote Contol Fix
« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2005, 07:35:00 PM »

the dl is actually the xip.. not a patch. So, you can search for the fix if you want :)

btw, what problem does this fix?
Logged

basil

  • Archived User
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Dvd Remote Contol Fix
« Reply #4 on: January 05, 2005, 07:49:00 PM »

I assume it fixes the problem with the arrow buttons on the DVD remote not working.  I know it's the xip.  Searching through all the xaps to find the code he modified is a lot harder than asking him to simply post what code he changed, like everyone else does on this board.  If it'll be easier for me to move all my modified code from my xip to this one then let me know.     B)
Logged

loggio

  • Archived User
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 67
Dvd Remote Contol Fix
« Reply #5 on: January 05, 2005, 08:15:00 PM »

You're fix is good and all, but you've done something to the xap that this dash doesn't like, you've dissabled the file manager!. The remote works fine and all, but when using you're xip, i go to System and then File Manager, but you cannot enter the file manager. So you're bug fix actually created it's own bug in return. A FIX IS NEEDED!

Cheers
loggio.
Logged

Digital_sin

  • Archived User
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 124
Dvd Remote Contol Fix
« Reply #6 on: January 05, 2005, 08:28:00 PM »

alright,

sorry about the file_manager thing, i'll get right on it, the same thing happened to the music tab but i noticed it before releasing this one

as for how did i do it........

to fix this problem you have to modify every xap file in defualt.xip so i cant explain them all one by one....... so here's the trick

for every

        function OnLeftThumbMoveUp()
        function OnLeftThumbMoveDown()
        function OnLeftThumbMoveRight()
        function OnLeftThumbMoveLeft()

inside any of the xaps, you have to COPY [not replace] it again but like this,

        function OnMoveUp()
        function OnMoveDown()
        function OnMoveRight()
        function OnMoveLeft()

for example, in skins.xap you'll find this somewhere near the end:-

 
CODE
 
    function OnLeftThumbMoveLeft()
        {
            if (nCurPlayerMenuItem == 0) { return; }
            else { nCurPlayerMenuItem = 0; }
            UpdateSkinMenu();
        }

        function OnLeftThumbMoveRight()
        {
            if (nCurPlayerMenuItem == 1) { return; }
            else { nCurPlayerMenuItem = 1; }
            UpdateSkinMenu();
        }

        function OnLeftThumbMoveUp()
        {
      if (skinSelect <= 0) { return; }
      PlaySoundMenuChange();
      skinSelect = skinSelect - 1;
      if (skinButton == 0) { skinScroll = skinScroll - 1; }
      else { skinButton = skinButton - 1; }
      theConfig.ChangeSkin( SkinMenuList[skinSelect] );
      UpdateSkinMenu();
        }

        function OnLeftThumbMoveDown()
        {
          if (skinSelect >= skinCount - 1) {  return; }
      PlaySoundMenuChange();
      skinSelect = skinSelect + 1;
      if (skinButton == 8) { skinScroll = skinScroll + 1; }
      else { skinButton = skinButton + 1; }
      theConfig.ChangeSkin( SkinMenuList[skinSelect] );
      UpdateSkinMenu();
        }



you should add the custom codes right before or after the original code so it will look like:-

CODE

        function OnMoveLeft()
        {
            if (nCurPlayerMenuItem == 0) { return; }
            else { nCurPlayerMenuItem = 0; }
            UpdateSkinMenu();
        }

        function OnMoveRight()
        {
            if (nCurPlayerMenuItem == 1) { return; }
            else { nCurPlayerMenuItem = 1; }
            UpdateSkinMenu();
        }

        function OnMoveUp()
        {
      if (skinSelect <= 0) { return; }
      PlaySoundMenuChange();
      skinSelect = skinSelect - 1;
      if (skinButton == 0) { skinScroll = skinScroll - 1; }
      else { skinButton = skinButton - 1; }
      theConfig.ChangeSkin( SkinMenuList[skinSelect] );
      UpdateSkinMenu();
        }

        function OnMoveDown()
        {
          if (skinSelect >= skinCount - 1) {  return; }
      PlaySoundMenuChange();
      skinSelect = skinSelect + 1;
      if (skinButton == 8) { skinScroll = skinScroll + 1; }
      else { skinButton = skinButton + 1; }
      theConfig.ChangeSkin( SkinMenuList[skinSelect] );
      UpdateSkinMenu();
        }

        function OnLeftThumbMoveLeft()
        {
            if (nCurPlayerMenuItem == 0) { return; }
            else { nCurPlayerMenuItem = 0; }
            UpdateSkinMenu();
        }

        function OnLeftThumbMoveRight()
        {
            if (nCurPlayerMenuItem == 1) { return; }
            else { nCurPlayerMenuItem = 1; }
            UpdateSkinMenu();
        }

        function OnLeftThumbMoveUp()
        {
      if (skinSelect <= 0) { return; }
      PlaySoundMenuChange();
      skinSelect = skinSelect - 1;
      if (skinButton == 0) { skinScroll = skinScroll - 1; }
      else { skinButton = skinButton - 1; }
      theConfig.ChangeSkin( SkinMenuList[skinSelect] );
      UpdateSkinMenu();
        }

        function OnLeftThumbMoveDown()
        {
          if (skinSelect >= skinCount - 1) {  return; }
      PlaySoundMenuChange();
      skinSelect = skinSelect + 1;
      if (skinButton == 8) { skinScroll = skinScroll + 1; }
      else { skinButton = skinButton + 1; }
      theConfig.ChangeSkin( SkinMenuList[skinSelect] );
      UpdateSkinMenu();
        }


which means, for example if you found OnLeftThumbMoveDown() anywhere on a xap, add above or under it a function OnMoveDown(), and so on for left, right and up... they're quite alot, so i would advise you to see which xap files you have modded  and do them your self and replace every other xap with my xaps........

i hope you got what i mean.

DiGiTaL_SiN

This post has been edited by Digital_sin: Jan 6 2005, 04:30 AM
Logged

Digital_sin

  • Archived User
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 124
Dvd Remote Contol Fix
« Reply #7 on: January 05, 2005, 08:41:00 PM »

alright i fixed the filemanager

download it again and you're ready to go

thanks loggio for bringing my attention to that bug.

This post has been edited by Digital_sin: Jan 6 2005, 04:49 AM
Logged

basil

  • Archived User
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Dvd Remote Contol Fix
« Reply #8 on: January 05, 2005, 08:51:00 PM »

Thanks a bunch for the explanation Digital_sin!  The remote not working properly was the only reason this wasn't yet my default dash, and now it is!   :P
Logged

jsrlepage

  • Archived User
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 115
Dvd Remote Contol Fix
« Reply #9 on: January 05, 2005, 10:16:00 PM »

remote not working properly as in what?

my bug is when i plug the remote while playing a dvd and THEN unplug it, it'll stop and ask me to replug the remote.
Logged

Digital_sin

  • Archived User
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 124
Dvd Remote Contol Fix
« Reply #10 on: January 05, 2005, 10:36:00 PM »

The Bug is:-

you cant use the dvd dongle to browse through your UIX dash, the only thing the dvd dongle does in the dash is go forware or back.
Logged

jsrlepage

  • Archived User
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 115
Dvd Remote Contol Fix
« Reply #11 on: January 05, 2005, 10:41:00 PM »

nice one, i'm gonna apply this right NOW
Logged

basil

  • Archived User
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Dvd Remote Contol Fix
« Reply #12 on: January 06, 2005, 01:19:00 AM »

Digital_sin: what code did you change to fix the filemanager?
Logged

Digital_sin

  • Archived User
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 124
Dvd Remote Contol Fix
« Reply #13 on: January 06, 2005, 05:24:00 PM »

thanks guys, i'm glad it worked for you all,

basil: i didn't use a code or anything, the first release was patched with a faulty file_manager.xap, that's all [i started working on this patch when i was supposed to be sleeping, so when i was done i couldn't see 2 inches ahead, i'm just glad you guys didn't get a tetris game instead of a patch  :P ]

DiGiTaL_SiN
Logged

posure

  • Archived User
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 83
Dvd Remote Contol Fix
« Reply #14 on: January 06, 2005, 07:16:00 PM »

i did this all manually before i saw this topic..just a note..go through every xap file in default.xip EXCEPT dvd.xap and copy those functions..dvd.xap already has functions allocated to the remote..most xap's only have a couple instances but settings.xap has a TON

also..if you wanna use the keyboard, make sure you edit default.xap in jkeyboard.xip and keyboard.xip (not sure the jkeyboard one makes a difference but i did it anyways)

This post has been edited by posure: Jan 7 2005, 03:25 AM
Logged