xboxscene.org forums

Author Topic: Terrible Quality Backup  (Read 166 times)

bruce1271

• Archived User
Terrible Quality Backup
« on: May 22, 2003, 09:29:00 PM »

I am new to back-ups but I have burnt Rocky on a cheap dvd-r from an iso made by simpleXiso.  When I play the game it looks like there is an interlacing problem on horiz lines(jagged edges) and also the colors all have a green tint to them. It actually looks like a dvd that had been encoded at a lower bit rate-but it wasnt.

Anyone know the cause of this? Is it my cheap 70cents dvd-r ?

Thanks

darksteppin

• Archived User
Terrible Quality Backup
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2003, 12:09:00 AM »

Did you rip this game yourself or did you download it? If you downloaded it you probably downloaded the cd-version that has downsampled movies. My friend dled the cd-version and it looks like shit. The dvd-r wouldn't matter. It has nothing to do with what the game looks like. I use cheap 55 cent princos and I have NEVER had a single problem with them.

Mr Ed

• Archived User
Terrible Quality Backup
« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2003, 08:46:00 AM »

While I haven't had the luck bruce1271 has since my cheap Princos fail over 50% of the time, I did want to make it clear, if it's a media issue the game simply won't play or will stop playing when it gets to a point where the media is bad.

It will never be a media issue where the game plays but doesn't look as good as it should.  Media issues are usually all or nothing.

bruce1271

• Archived User
Terrible Quality Backup
« Reply #3 on: May 27, 2003, 09:24:00 PM »

Hey Guys,

Well, It is a direct backup from the dvd-rom game.  I had a similar issue on DVD movies having this tint on high colored movies(toy story).
Perhaps I will try quality media and see if a difference arrises.

Xeero

• Archived User
Terrible Quality Backup
« Reply #4 on: May 27, 2003, 09:57:00 PM »