xboxscene.org forums

Author Topic: A Look On How I See On Techsupport And On General  (Read 1076 times)

JayDee

• Archived User
A Look On How I See On Techsupport And On General
« on: September 26, 2004, 03:57:00 PM »

This is my first attempt on writing something like this so keep with me for at least some lines.

Some of you may know of me, others have likely never heard of me.
What i will do in this thread is to explain on some things that have bugged me for a few months and that i want to share with the public.

I’ll start from day zero, they day i got my Xbox...

Time warp around 2 years back in time:

I got this big bulky box and know this much: I was in need of a chip.
A x2lite was ordered within the hour and three days later it arrived. Three days i spent on mIRC reading up and on xbox-scenes pages with tutorials and on alot of forums.

Evo-X got installed as for most of us, but i soon found that i only used XBMP. (2.1 Or 2.2 i think it was)
I liked it so much so i started to write tutorials for it and uploaded them to my ISP web space.
I soon found myself spending most of my free time in various xbmp related mIRC channels giving support and testing new builds that came out.
After a few months i was asked if i wanted to join the @´s in #XBMP.  We where a close gang, 5 or so active people, all spending more time then is healthy on this little app.

We must have gotten the attention of the development team because they invited us in as testers and support/techhelpers.
Of course we joined, we where delighted of this, but at the same time our roles changed abit as we where now part of something bigger.
As XBMP, and XBMC, are open source projects and fully legal rule changes in the mIRC channel came.
No piracy, No XDK files.
In short: No illegal stuff at all!
Before this, xbmp builds was often found in the chan by people hosting ftps or dccing them around.
But as said, in one stroke all of this was changed.

We enforce this policy, and we do it often and hard.