xboxscene.org forums

Author Topic: Wth? Screw Issue For X-clamp Fix?  (Read 49 times)

zero.Fx

• Archived User
Wth? Screw Issue For X-clamp Fix?
« on: August 02, 2008, 01:54:00 AM »

Alright guys - I have a serious issue here. I followed Llama's guide and did everything until I stopped at the drilling part.

I drilled the holes with a 13/64 drill.

I purchased the M5 .80 x 10 (oval head) screws with Nylon washers (size 10 I believe... but not flat I think) and it's too short but I tried screwing it tighter, and there would just be no effect whatsoever, meaning it just wouldn't screw tighter or anything...

I'm not a mechanic guy or anything - but before I buy any new screws for the x-clamp fix, should I be purchasing the M5 screws in the first place?

What do you recommend me?

Thanks. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/wink.gif)

This post has been edited by zero.Fx: Aug 2 2008, 08:57 AM

Wilhelm_I

• Archived User
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2008, 02:04:00 AM »

QUOTE(zero.Fx @ Aug 2 2008, 10:30 AM) *

Alright guys - I have a serious issue here. I followed Llama's guide and did everything until I stopped at the drilling part.

I drilled the holes with a 13/64 drill.

I purchased the M5 .80 x 10 (oval head) screws with Nylon washers (size 10 I believe... but not flat I think) and it's too short but I tried screwing it tighter, and there would just be no effect whatsoever, meaning it just wouldn't screw tighter or anything...

I'm not a mechanic guy or anything - but before I buy any new screws for the x-clamp fix, should I be purchasing the M5 screws in the first place?

What do you recommend me?

10mm sounds indeed a bit too short...
If you want to screw through the case you will need 3mm additionally, so try to get some with 15mm length or so...
Otherwise just use my tutorial, then you dont have to screw through the case at all.

zero.Fx

• Archived User
« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2008, 02:08:00 AM »

QUOTE(Wilhelm_I @ Aug 2 2008, 04:40 AM) *