xboxscene.org forums

Author Topic: Failed X2.3l+ Installation... What Now?  (Read 1020 times)

kardis

• Archived User
Failed X2.3l+ Installation... What Now?
« on: January 02, 2004, 11:51:00 AM »

Hi, I'm new to all this and tried to install an X2.3l+ in my v1.4/1.5 xbox. Once I finally got all the lights to come on (2 blue and 1 green), I tried enabling the chip and got the dreaded 2 boots then FRAG. Even worse is when I remove the chip completely, the xbox still does the 2 boot then FRAG. I've read this can be due to a bios error, or some other general error, such as a short on the mobo. Is it possible I toasted the onboard bios while doing the install? Or would this have to be a short?

I'm buying a multimeter today so I can check the traces and see if I disconnected one while I was scraping away the coating on the D0. If so I will try to reconnect the trace, either with a conductive pen or by soldering some 30 AWG wire as suggested.

My question is if there is a short on the mobo, would it still be possible to boot from the bios on my X2.3l+ if it's enabled and has a functional bios? I never got to see if my chip was actually installed correctly, except for that I can get the 3 lights, so I don't know if it's not working because the bios on the chip is bad, or because the chip is still not installed correctly. Furthermore, if the mobo is messed up, would it not matter, because the chip wouldn't work anyway? Should I bother getting a programmer to flash a new bios onto the X2.3l+ and try to get it to work, or forget about that until I can get the xbox to boot up correctly without the chip installed? I'm hoping I can get the mobo fixed, but if not I'm hoping a working mod chip will allow me to still use the xbox.

Any help you guys could give me would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

kardis

• Archived User
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2004, 02:50:00 PM »