xboxscene.org forums

Author Topic: Launching Backup Movies From Dashboard...possible?  (Read 326 times)

Xarius

• Archived User
Launching Backup Movies From Dashboard...possible?
« on: December 08, 2004, 08:22:00 PM »

I'm pretty new to the scene, so bare with me. I'm using tHc Lite, but the question regards any dashboard. I'm looking for a way to launch backup movies from the Hard drive. Not with XBMC, but from a dash menu, much like you have a menu for games.

Has anyone ever seen this? Or do you always need to start another program for a backed up movie to play?

dvdronn

• Archived User
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2004, 08:46:00 PM »

I could be wrong, but pretty sure you need the eye and remote. If the eye is in a controller point, then movie will launch.

Odb718

• Archived User
« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2004, 03:03:00 AM »

ronn I thikn you're confused... either that or I am.
I think he means he has say 7 DVDs backed up to his hdd.
He'd like a dash to list them and launch a dvd player when he selects it.

As of right now that's the best idea I've heard of for the dash.  :beer:
But it's probably one of the harder ones to do.
Although it does seem vesable.
DVD play back is one thing, but dvd from the hdd is another. Similar yet different.
Honestly I dont see why this couldnt be done, but then again Im not in charge of coding.

ILTB

• Recovered User
« Reply #3 on: December 09, 2004, 03:09:00 AM »

QUOTE (Odb718 @ Dec 9 2004, 08:35 PM)
Although it does seem vesable.

hehe, nice idea.
Odb u could work on ur spelling, no wonder ur not a coder :P
lol jk.

FYI its feasable.

:beer:

PID

• Archived User
« Reply #4 on: December 09, 2004, 06:12:00 AM »

XBMC seem to manage it nicely. XBMP did too, if you screwed around with playlists and languages. As for DVD from HDD playback in any kinda m$dash, not this year at least.

dvdronn

• Archived User
« Reply #5 on: December 09, 2004, 06:46:00 AM »

:uhh: totally spaced out the hard drive part. :uhh:

trentdadi