xboxscene.org forums

Author Topic: How Will My 360 Connect To My 5.1?  (Read 169 times)

spartan_k3b

• Archived User
How Will My 360 Connect To My 5.1?
« on: September 11, 2005, 12:31:00 AM »

I purchased a 5.1 surround sound system in preparation for my new HD entertainment experience with the Xbox 360 at the center, of course.  However, I'm a little confused as to how I'm supposed to connect the 360 to my sound setup and get 5.1....
  I am new to the 5.1 sound issue.  I was confused at how I was supposed to get 5.1 channels of sound out of only two audio cables, (red/white cables) but I have since learned that it isn't possible, and that an advanced AV pack is needed(w/ the current xbox).  I will be getting myself the premium xbox 360 package, with that said, how will I connect my 360 to my speakers and actually get 5.1.   My Speakers have 2 rca (red/white) inputs, and one spdif input...(i think that's what it is).  I've read in these forums that there will be a socket for a digital toslink audio output....    I don't know what that is.. but as far as I can tell, I need to plug that digital toslink thingy to my spdif input on my speakers....  

Well, I hope somebody can make sense of my nonsense, and help me out.
A website link and or pictures would be really helpfull....  

thanks for your time.

aepuppetmaster

• Archived User
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2005, 12:36:00 AM »

u need an optical cable (digital) to get 5.1 on the 360 or for that matter the xbox

spartan_k3b

• Archived User
« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2005, 12:55:00 AM »

After looking around on the web, I'm getting the idea that the input on my 5.1 speakers is not a spdif input.  It looks like an S-video type input...   is it spdif or something else?
Anybody even know what I'm talking about...
hufff.... I'm worried I might not have my setup ready for the 360... :uhh:

Later, like tomorrow, I may be able to get a pic of the inputs with a camera and post them up to help.

spartan_k3b