xboxscene.org forums

Author Topic: Battle For Wesnoth  (Read 263 times)

tbone937

• Archived User
Battle For Wesnoth
« on: June 12, 2006, 07:58:00 AM »

Ok, I'm not a coder. But a few points:

1. It's the most downloaded turnbased strategy game on sourceforge.

2. Source is available http://www.wesnoth.org/.

3. It's hard to find a good turn based stragegy game anywhere, let alone on xbox (or any console).  The only one's I've ever stumbled upon were the Shining Force series (Genesis) and Tactics (PS1).  I probably missed out on some but they are still few and far between.

4. It's GOOD and different as far as the gameplay goes.

Anyone tell me if/when/why/why not/how this idea is for a port?

Like I said, I'm not a coder.

Thanks for your time.
D

tbone937

• Archived User
Battle For Wesnoth
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2006, 05:48:00 PM »

I feel like there's gotta be a reason this isn't ported yet.  Just checked and I think the controls could be mapped kinda easily.

And i keep seeing mention of it all over the "reqest" kind of posts.

Anyone say why this is or is not a good idea? technically? logistically?

D

Potman

• Archived User
Battle For Wesnoth
« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2006, 11:52:00 PM »

it can be ported (im no coder either, but it should be able to be ported). i'd love to have this for xbox, it'd be an awesome addition to the xbox scene, especially since there's no turn based stragety port, and there's no commerical turned based strategy xbox game (well there's afew commerical games, but nothing like battle for wesnoth), this'd be the first. i doubt any coder here's interested tho, too bad.
i even requested it to be ported to xbox in battle for wesnoth's forum, but nobody there cared.

tbone937

• Archived User
Battle For Wesnoth
« Reply #3 on: June 13, 2006, 08:06:00 AM »

sux big time

I can't help but think there has to be a technical reason... cuz wesnoth seems to be pretty damn popular.