xboxscene.org forums

Author Topic: Playing Retail Games On A Debug Kit  (Read 312 times)

Medusa

• Archived User
Playing Retail Games On A Debug Kit
« on: September 28, 2003, 11:33:00 PM »

I posted this thread on the noob forum but did not get any reaction, thats why I am posting this for the second and last time on this forum.

Hi all,

A few weeks ago I received an Xbox to preview the latest games in development. As a total Xbox nOOb I tried to get to know the system but didn't knew what it was. Only after a few days things started to clear up... The xbox is marked as an 'Xbox debug kit' and is only able to play unfinished games. It has the xdk launcher on it with 3 progs in it... XB Dashboard, some Audio tool and a Dolphin clasic thing (I deleted by accident The dolphin thing... so thats lost 4ever!). I wanted to try some full games on the thing but seems that that does not work, eager for knowledge I wanted to find out if there was a way to get these games to work anyways, at that moment my Quest began. Seems like everyone wants to get a retail box into a debug and chips the thing. I am looking for a 'non chip' way (because I have to give the thing back when I am tired of previewing games (preferebly not broken;)).
So I figured out the following:

I could get these games to work if I can get a full copy of the game on the xbox's HD. (It should show up in the XDK launcher if I place it in Xe:)
To get it there, I need to get connected to the box and run some sort of FTP program. This would be possible if I install Visual Studio.net 2003 and SDK build 5558 on my pc. Through xboxneighbourhood in sdk the ftp would be possible.

Before I start to look for the progs mentioned above it would be nice if you gave me your professional opinion on This. Could this work or is it just not possible?

thx for your help,

Medusa

delphaeus

• Archived User
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2003, 04:00:00 AM »