xboxscene.org forums

Author Topic: Tutorial: Running Half-life On Xbox Linux  (Read 89 times)

guitardork864

• Archived User
Tutorial: Running Half-life On Xbox Linux
« on: October 21, 2004, 10:39:00 PM »

I am running it under 3.1 home, because I am a linux newbie and not ready for pro, but I'm sure you could get better performance under pro because it uses less resources.

I use IceWM as my window manager because it uses less ram than XFCE, however HL ran ok under XFCE as well.

**NOTE** This is not a tutorial on using STEAM, I haven't played around with steam on the xbox yet, maybe I'll write a tutorial later.

1.) goto http://www.transgaming.com/sources.php
2.) follow the instruction on how to download Cedega from CVS.
3.) when its downloaded (mine was in /gentoox/winex) browse to that directory
4.) type "./configure && make depend && make && su -c "make install"
5,) this will take a while, so go get some food or something.  It will prompt you for your root password towards the end of the install, so make sure you are there to enter it.
6.) when it is done, make a directory under /gentoox called ".wine" (so it would be /gentoox/.wine)
7.) browse to the folder where the Cedega CVS was downloaded to and enter the documentation/samples folder.  Find the "config" file and copy it to the directoy you made in step 6
8.) make the following directories under /gentoox

/.transgaming/c_drive/windows/system
    /.transgaming/c_drive/windows/system32
    /.transgaming/c_drive/windows/fonts  
    /.transgaming/c_drive/windows/start menu/programs
    /.transgaming/c_drive/program files                                                
 9.) once this is done, put in your HL cd.  then mount it.  If you are unsure on how to do this, use the file manager (XFFM) and browse down to fstab, and open it, then select /mnt/cdrom and right click and select mount.
10.)  then, type "wine /mnt/cdrom/cdrom0/setup.exe"
11.) Half-life will install