xboxscene.org forums

Author Topic: What Is The Best.....  (Read 122 times)

ChldsPlay

• Archived User
What Is The Best.....
« on: January 22, 2006, 11:46:00 AM »

I use Canopus ProCoder.  Don't need to make DVDs into one .vob first.

blue bandicoot

• Archived User
What Is The Best.....
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2006, 12:37:00 PM »

autoGK

create

• Archived User
What Is The Best.....
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2006, 03:11:00 PM »

I fired up autoGK and from what I can tell that only outputs in .avi. I'm sure I can find a program to convert .avi to .mpg/.wmv but the original poster is looking for a .vob to .mpg outright converting program. I'm not an expert at using video editing programs so maybe I missed something.

Maybe I can just change the file extension...will have to test tonight.

zombie4rave

• Archived User
What Is The Best.....
« Reply #3 on: January 23, 2006, 06:20:00 AM »

How the hell do I rip a DVD into a single file? I have DVD Shrink and can't seem to find the option.

Go to edit, preferences, output files. Uncheck the option to split VOB files into 1GB chunks.

create

• Archived User
What Is The Best.....
« Reply #4 on: January 24, 2006, 09:20:00 AM »

Okay. I did some testing with autoGK and it is not a solution to the initial question. The main reason (and it should have been apparent to me from the start) is that it encodes .vob into .avi using DivX or Xvid encoding. We know Media Center Extender will not stream .avi files or files encoded in DivX/Xvid. Changing file extensions does not work as well, because of the encode. That said, autoGK is something I had always heard about but did not ever have a reason to really delve into. Now because of this thread, that has changed and I am grateful to have learned something new.

xzenor: Can you list the ways/methods you have been using/trying?

create

• Archived User
What Is The Best.....
« Reply #5 on: January 24, 2006, 07:52:00 PM »

QUOTE(xzenor @ Jan 25 2006, 03:05 AM) View Post