xboxscene.org forums

Author Topic: Hex Editing (hexing) Tutorials?!  (Read 596 times)

generationhacka

• Archived User
Hex Editing (hexing) Tutorials?!
« on: June 05, 2006, 03:18:00 AM »

So basically i need to get a hex editing XB games tutorial so i can get to grips with it!

I have experience in programming languages such as: C++, VB 6 (sum VB.Net), Java, Javascript, HTML few others as well. So i am not a complete newb when it comes to hex editting or programming in general.

So a link to a tutorial or just a hint in the right direction!

I  would be very much grateful, Thank You!

GenerationHacka

xbill

• Archived User
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2006, 11:45:00 AM »

QUOTE(generationhacka @ Jun 5 2006, 10:18 AM) View Post

So basically i need to get a hex editing XB games tutorial so i can get to grips with it!

Do you want a general xbox game hacking tutorial, or specific hex editing tutorial for Rainbow Six games?

A Google search turns up game-related hex editing tutorials.  Here are two:
http://www.campaignc...pment/hex.shtml
http://www.halomods....040503053106260

Try a search for "game hacking" and you'll find lots of resources that will give you a clue as to the kinds of things to look for when hex editing.

Since each game is different, you really have to experiment.  Look for patterns or known values.  Learn how floating point numbers are stored.   Since you have programming experience you should understand structures and various contructs used to store values - look for such structures.  Look for offsets and pointers (values that point to other addresses/values)  Look at values that represent the length of a string.