xboxscene.org forums

Author Topic: How To Install Xbmc Without Ftp?  (Read 561 times)

inc188

• Archived User
How To Install Xbmc Without Ftp?
« on: November 14, 2009, 11:26:00 PM »

hi everyone

i am just a newbie and just recently after quite a bit of research i was able to soft mod my xbox....

now i want to load up xbmc but i cant seem to get the FTP working thru the home router...

is there an alternative way of loading up xbmc or should it must be done thru ftp?

thank you kindly

obcd

• Archived User
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2009, 02:18:00 AM »

You could burn it on a dvd as a xiso.
If you are lucky, the xbox will be able to read the disk, and you can copy the files back from the dvd on the xbox.
Xbox dvd drives are very picky about the media they read.

You really should try to get ftp going. It's the easiest way to transfer information to and from the xbox.

What dashboard do you have now on your xbox? Have you checked the xbox ip adress? Can you ping to your xbox?

regards.

inc188

• Archived User
« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2009, 02:58:00 PM »

QUOTE(obcd @ Nov 15 2009, 02:18 AM) *

You could burn it on a dvd as a xiso.
If you are lucky, the xbox will be able to read the disk, and you can copy the files back from the dvd on the xbox.
Xbox dvd drives are very picky about the media they read.

You really should try to get ftp going. It's the easiest way to transfer information to and from the xbox.

What dashboard do you have now on your xbox? Have you checked the xbox ip adress? Can you ping to your xbox?

regards.

thanks alot obcd

i am running EvolutionX and i have no idea why i picked it.. all of research  asks to make sure DHCP is enabled but in EvolutionX there is no such option.

i have the Static IP set to NO and i cant even PING the xbox... i have checked the xbox's ip and still no luck... do i have to change any setting on the router?

thank you

obcd

• Archived User
« Reply #3 on: November 16, 2009, 11:50:00 PM »