xboxscene.org forums

Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 ... 20

Author Topic: Soft-modding For Absolute Beginners  (Read 1020 times)

gstyler

• Archived User
Soft-modding For Absolute Beginners
« Reply #45 on: September 24, 2004, 11:59:00 PM »

I have an xbox which would seem to be version 1.4 or 1.5 from its production date and bios & kernel versions, i attempted to softmod my xbox with the MA exploit, once i had copied the MA save game files to my xbox hdd via my pc with the hdd swap trick i then proceeded to load the game and install linux, unfortunatley my version of the xbox is read only on certain sections of the hdd (well thats one of the explainations i could think of), so i got an error when trying to install linux, now i am attempting to solder the 2 tsop points on my xbox mobo and using a friends modded xbox to place my hdd in to then use slayers auto installer to set my hdd back to factory defaults so it will be unprotected but still just like a standard xbox hdd, so i can then put the SC exploit onto my xbox hdd and run evox to gain ftp access, i will then get pbl so to emulate a bios temporarily and a replacement dash on there, doing all this with the audio exploit will enable me to have a hijacked yet modded xbox, then with this to make a more permenant modification i am going to flash the xecuter 4983 bios to my xbox directly then use slayers again to format my hdd but this time it will be my 200gb hdd and it will be constructed with appz, avalaunch dash and then i will start copying games over..

My questions are:

When i set the hdd back to factory defaults will my xbox read it as a normal hdd like b4 or will it reject it..?

Do i need to do the tsop points to write to the bios or will i be able to write to it with out soldering the tsop points...?

When i had an error installing linux primarily was it because my hdd has certain read only sections or was it another reason, if so what is the other reason

emrldwpn

• Archived User