xboxscene.org forums

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Problem With X2.6 + Xapter Install On V1.0 (frag)  (Read 130 times)

Jynsta

• Archived User
Problem With X2.6 + Xapter Install On V1.0 (frag)
« on: October 03, 2004, 12:24:00 PM »

I tried installing this thing all day yesterday but to no avail. I have previously installed 2.3Lite+ chips fine but this is my first time with a 2.6 + xapter.

The system works fine with chip disabled, it boots right into MS dash. But when enabled, the system restarts twice then FRAGs, no video. The light on the chip and switch are on correctly so I assumed I had a good connection. I've tried multiple times to reseat/reposition the xapter but it's the same result everytime-FRAG.

Is there some sort of trick to installing with the xapter?

mbratton

• Archived User
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2004, 03:49:00 PM »

lol... as far as i know, the xapter works with the 2.6s... but i have no clue about the x3s... try reflashing your bios using a programmer or hotswap

Jynsta

• Archived User
« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2004, 04:08:00 PM »

QUOTE (trentdadi @ Oct 3 2004, 11:50 PM)
I dont know too much about the xapters but I dont think they are compatible with the 2.6s or the x3s for that matter.  But since the lights are coming on your chip correctly, I am probably wrong.

It might be possible that your chip didnt come pre-flashed.  Try using a programmer to put your bios on it.  Make sure the xapter is fitting flush on the mobo.  There should be no room between it and the mobo and when you put the wire into the d0 point, that it "clicked" in.  Are you using the brass fittings or no?

2.6 and xapter are suppose to be compatible, I was sold them as a pair from system-mods.