xboxscene.org forums

Author Topic: Soldering Iron Mod!  (Read 78 times)

pdottz

• Archived User
Soldering Iron Mod!
« on: October 16, 2003, 05:45:00 PM »

I know alot of people out there are like me... (mod monkeys  :D ) I haven't started on my xb yet except for a chip hehe.

Here's the thing, Soldering iron handles are placed way up away from the tip. At least mine is, it's an old  30watt I've had for about 10 years. ( No Im not old, just started early with this stuff)

I sharpened the tip with my dremel for a nice fine point. wire installs take no time like this.

now what I want to do is place the handle closer down towards the point of the iron. The reason is that I am also an artist, and hold pencils and pens closer up to the front for better control. I tried this with my soldering iron (after it was off and cooled for sometime) and it feels so nice. I even moved it around from point to point  on an old NIC card I no longer needed to see how good control would be. It's awesome. Holding the Iron from the handle is awkward for me.
Does anyone know a way to add maybe like a drilled piece of wood? shaped with the dremel hehe.?
I don't know why I didn't think about this years ago.

This post has been edited by pdottz: Oct 17 2003, 12:49 AM

spgurley

• Archived User
Soldering Iron Mod!
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2003, 06:58:00 PM »

im same way, but im not an artist

i wish there was a way

gay soldering iron companys, they shoudl make a soldering iron liike this

Linkitch

• Archived User
Soldering Iron Mod!
« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2003, 07:08:00 PM »

try asking in here instead... people know a little bit more about modding, then people on this forum... no offence...
http://forums.bit-tech.net/

twistedsymphony

• Recovered User
Soldering Iron Mod!
« Reply #3 on: October 16, 2003, 07:10:00 PM »

yeah not to mention when you're hopped up on mt dew all the time (like me)