xboxscene.org forums

Author Topic: Marking Accurate Cut Templates  (Read 101 times)

OCF

• Archived User
Marking Accurate Cut Templates
« on: January 06, 2008, 12:49:00 PM »

Im modifying a DVD player case to house the Xbox insides and I need some help designing the faceplate/backplate, Im having a lot of trouble finding a way to efficiently and accurately mark out the needed holes for ports, switches, DVD tray etc. I initially tried just outlining around the item I was making the hole for but soon found it out to be very inaccurate method. I also tried measuring the ports (1.1x2.1 HxWcm) and marking this out on the faceplate but again it is hard to get accurate measurements when working with such small sizes and using a pencil (IMG:style_emoticons/default/tongue.gif)

I thought maybe designing templates on a CAD program would be good so I downloaded Alibre Design, its hard to use to say the least but then again I have zero experience when it comes to image editing or any sort of similar design programs. I was able to make a basic template for the controller ports, but how do I go about getting this made in to some usable template that will actually work.

I have a dremel and a large toolkit, for plastics I've always used the small high speed cutting bits they are a lot easier to use when cuttings plastics compared to something like a cut of disc.

How do you go about marking up and cutting accurately?

thanks in advance

OCF

Beauregardy

• Archived User
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2008, 01:42:00 PM »

well

what are you trying to cut....

OCF

• Archived User
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2008, 10:33:00 PM »

lol sorry I was rushing inital post completley forgot, faceplate is plastic, backplate is metal Im assuming steel, similar to the chassis material of a PC case.

Case Picture may give you better idea of construction, if you need further pics, inside of case etc just ask and I'll snap a few.