xboxscene.org forums

Author Topic: Unleashx & Xbmc - Play Everything Except Dvdmovies  (Read 66 times)

vishnu2k

• Archived User
Unleashx & Xbmc - Play Everything Except Dvdmovies
« on: December 24, 2004, 09:18:00 AM »

:(
I am a newbie.. So, pl do not blast me off if this is a very simple issue.

I soft-modded my XBOX and I have UnleashX dashboard.

I have a  question and a problem.

1) How do I know the version number of UnleashX. How do I download the lastest UnleashX executables?

2) I have UnleashX and XBMC. Still, my XBOX doesnt play DVD-movies. XBMC plays everything else (DIVX, WMV....) .. I am wondering if I am doing something wrong.  Also, how do I find out if the bios is modified in my XBOX?

Sorry for asking too many qs.

It would be great if ppl could help me with all this.

Thanks

bucko

• Recovered User
« Reply #1 on: December 24, 2004, 09:26:00 AM »

Check out DVD2X or what ever its called. Its a proper dvd player that doesnt require remote.

jonathan2007

• Archived User
« Reply #2 on: December 24, 2004, 09:39:00 AM »

Hello and welcome to X-S.

1) I am not really sure how to tell the version number but I guess once you get to the unleashx version that has autoupdate you won't need to worry about version numbers too much. To download unleashx go here. That is a tutorial on how to download things from xbins (also known as the usual places. You will need an IRC client such as MIRC and an FTP client such as FlashFXP.

2) The M$ dashboard will never play your dvd's unless you have a dvd dongle and remote. But there are other apps that play dvd's such as DVDX2 and XBMC. If you want to play dvd's in XBMC (be warned that the menu for the dvd doesn't always play quite right) goto my videos and then goto play dvd on the side. In DVD2 it is pretty straightforward. You can get DVDX2 off of xbins also. And you can also get XMC either from certain torrent sites or from xbins XBMC compiled server.