xboxscene.org forums

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: How To Make Thc Lite Run From F  (Read 1365 times)

Xbox-Savage

  • Archived User
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 857
How To Make Thc Lite Run From F
« on: April 20, 2004, 02:41:00 PM »

This tutorial will make your tHc Lite dashboard to run from F.

You Need :

1. Winxip
2. Hex editor
3. Notepad
4. default.xip
5. thclite.xbe  (can be name to whatever your bios looks for)

Step 1. Edit the default.xap on default.xip

1.Open Winxip
2.Open the default.xip and extract the default.xap
3.Open the default.xap with notepad
4.Do a search for

CODE
function GetSubmenuText()


Change the Y to N

QUOTE

function GetSubmenuText()
{
    var info = new Settings;
    info.file = "Y:\\config.xbx"; <----- change Y to N
    SubMenuItem1 = info.GetValue("Memory Text");
    SubMenuItem2 = info.GetValue("Music Text");
    SubMenuItem3 = info.GetValue("HardDrive Text");
    SubMenuItem4 = info.GetValue("Settings Text");
}

function GetConfigInfo()
{
    var info = new Settings;
    info.file = "Y:\\config.xbx"; <----- change Y to N
    TotalSections = info.GetValue("Total Sections");
    return TotalSections;
}

function GetSectionTitles(x)
{
    var a = x;
    var info = new Settings;
    info.file = "Y:\\config.xbx"; <----- change Y to N
    info.section = "section" + a;
    SectionName = info.GetValue("Title");
    return SectionName;
}

function GetSectionPaths(x)
{
    var a = x;
    var info = new Settings;
    info.file = "Y:\\config.xbx"; <----- change Y to N
    info.section = "section" + a;
    SectionPath = info.GetValue("Path");
    return SectionPath;
}

function GetOrb()
{
    var info = new Settings;
    info.file = "Y:\\config.xbx"; <----- change Y to N
    var a = info.GetValue("Use Thc Orb");
    if(a == "Yes")
    {
        thcorb = true;
    }
    else
    {
        thcorb = false;
    }
}

function GetBGM()
{
    var info = new Settings;
    info.file = "Y:\\config.xbx"; <----- change Y to N
    var b = info.GetValue("Background Music");
    if(b == "Yes")
    {
        BGMon = true;
    }
}


Step 2. Editing the xbe

1.Open your Hex editor (i used Hex Workshop)
2.Open the xbe with it
3. Edit , Go To, and type offset 0002863  (if youre using Hex Workshop)
4. change 32 to 36 , that will make it boot from Partition 6 (F) instead of Partition 2 ©

UPDATE

This will make MemoryX to look for the score on F

1.Open Winxip
2.Open the default.xip and extract the memoryx.xap
3.Open the memoryx.xap with notepad
4.Do a search for

CODE
function GetScoreInfo()


Change Y to N

QUOTE

function GetScoreInfo()
{
    var info = new Settings;
    info.file = "Y:\\memoryx.xbx"; <----- change Y to N
    NameOne = info.GetValue("NameOne");
    NameTwo = info.GetValue("NameTwo");
    NameThree = info.GetValue("NameThree");
    ScoreOne = info.GetValue("ScoreOne");
    ScoreTwo = info.GetValue("ScoreTwo");
    ScoreThree = info.GetValue("ScoreThree");
}


Update #2 Quicklaunch

Found that quicklaunch wasnt working so heres how to make it work from F too.

1.Open Winxip
2.Open the default.xip and extract the default.xap
3.Open the default.xap with notepad
4.Do a search for

CODE
function QuickLaunch(x)


Change Y to N

QUOTE

function QuickLaunch(x)
{
    quicklaunch = true;
    var g = x;
    var info = new Settings;
    info.file = "Y:\\config.xbx"; <----- change Y to N
    var a = info.GetValue("Quick Launch " + g);
    var b = a.substr(0,1);
    var c = a.indexOf("\\");
    var d = a.lastIndexOf("\\");
    var e;
    if(d > 4)
    {


beerchug.gif Hope it helps
Logged

bengu

  • Archived User
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
How To Make Thc Lite Run From F
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2004, 03:20:00 PM »

will this work if you put the dash in a sub folder for example mine will be in
f/dashboards/thc.

Logged

Xbox-Savage

  • Archived User
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 857
How To Make Thc Lite Run From F
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2004, 03:40:00 PM »

QUOTE (bengu @ Apr 20 2004, 08:13 PM)
will this work if you put the dash in a sub folder for example mine will be in
f/dashboards/thc.

i thinks so ,

it would be like this

same as above only change it from

QUOTE

info.file = "N:\\config.xbx";


To

QUOTE

info.file = "N:\\dashboards\\t\\config.xbx";


and the xbe to look for

Partition6\dashboards\t\thcdata

*NOTE i wrote t cause on the xbe theres hardly space to write dashboards\thc\tHcdata, i didnt want to make the xbe useless by deleting data from it *

This post has been edited by Xbox-Savage: Apr 20 2004, 10:44 PM
Logged

Cody Smile

  • Archived User
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 55
How To Make Thc Lite Run From F
« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2004, 03:50:00 PM »

you also can change the screenshot location open a hex edit program and look for
CODE
C:\tHc_snapshot00000000.bmp
and change the c:/ to what ever you want

C:/ = Y
E:/ = C
F:/ = N
G:/ = O

This post has been edited by Cody Smile: Apr 20 2004, 11:06 PM
Logged

bengu

  • Archived User
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
How To Make Thc Lite Run From F
« Reply #4 on: April 20, 2004, 04:35:00 PM »

Ok so far all I get is a black screen when I go to boot it.  here are my settings


default.xap

function GetSubmenuText()
{
   var info = new Settings;
   info.file = "N:\\dashboards\\t\\config.xbx";

function GetConfigInfo()
{
   var info = new Settings;
   info.file = "N:\\dashboards\\t\\config.xbx";

function GetSectionTitles(x)
{
   var a = x;
   var info = new Settings;
   info.file = "N:\\dashboards\\t\\config.xbx";

function GetSectionPaths(x)
{
   var a = x;
   var info = new Settings;
   info.file = "N:\\dashboards\\t\\config.xbx";

function GetOrb()
{
   var info = new Settings;
   info.file = "N:\\dashboards\\t\\config.xbx";

function GetBGM()
{
   var info = new Settings;
   info.file = "N:\\dashboards\\t\\config.xbx";


"memoryx.xap"

function GetScoreInfo()
{
   var info = new Settings;
   info.file = "N:\\memoryx.xbx";



As for the default.xbe edit, I thing you gave me the wrong sorce code because the one you gave me did not have a 32 or a 36 in it.  However I went through and changed all the Partition2 to Partion6.  Hope this will work.  

This post has been edited by bengu: Apr 21 2004, 12:28 AM
Logged

Xbox-Savage

  • Archived User
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 857
How To Make Thc Lite Run From F
« Reply #5 on: April 20, 2004, 04:57:00 PM »

huh.gif  why do i see that you typed the getscore code from memory.xap on default.xap code?

Logged

bengu

  • Archived User
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
How To Make Thc Lite Run From F
« Reply #6 on: April 20, 2004, 05:32:00 PM »

I dont know I edited the original post I thing I maight of missed posted something.  I coppied and pasted everything from the .xab folders, the only thing I changed was the n to y and also the /dashboard/t thingy.
Logged

Xbox-Savage

  • Archived User
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 857
How To Make Thc Lite Run From F
« Reply #7 on: April 20, 2004, 11:19:00 PM »

biggrin.gif  It works from inside a folder.

What i did was this.

On Default.xap from Default.xip
CODE

info.file = "N:\\dash\\tHc\\config.xbx";


On xbe

CODE
Partition6\dash\tHc\tHcData



I launched it from Evox and booted fine , everything works. except the quicklaunch. is edited like the rest but doesnt work , it sents me back to Evox.

it didnt work cause dashboard is too long and breaks the xbe by editing data from it. so i used dash
Logged

bengu

  • Archived User
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
How To Make Thc Lite Run From F
« Reply #8 on: April 21, 2004, 05:17:00 AM »

Ok cool thanks a lot for your help I will try this and get back to you.
Logged

bengu

  • Archived User
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
How To Make Thc Lite Run From F
« Reply #9 on: April 21, 2004, 08:28:00 AM »

Ok I have tried everyting you said the only thing I can think that is wrong is the default.xbe, mine is different then yours here is what mine looks like

\Device\Harddisk0\Partition6\dashboards\XODash

Hopefully this is the reason why I cant get it to work, if not o well I guess I will do with out the dash.  Thanks for all the help.
Logged

Xbox-Savage

  • Archived User
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 857
How To Make Thc Lite Run From F
« Reply #10 on: April 21, 2004, 09:09:00 AM »

QUOTE (bengu @ Apr 21 2004, 01:21 PM)
Ok I have tried everyting you said the only thing I can think that is wrong is the default.xbe, mine is different then yours here is what mine looks like

\Device\Harddisk0\Partition6\dashboards\XODash

Hopefully this is the reason why I cant get it to work, if not o well I guess I will do with out the dash.  Thanks for all the help.

wink.gif did you used the offset that i gave? if you have a fresh unmodified LITE xbe on the offset that i gave you should say :

CODE

Device\HardDisk0\Partition2\tHcData

user posted image



i changed it to:

CODE

Device\HardDisk0\Partition2\dash\tHc\tHcData

user posted image

Logged

bengu

  • Archived User
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
How To Make Thc Lite Run From F
« Reply #11 on: April 21, 2004, 12:06:00 PM »

Quote
did you used the offset that i gave? if you have a fresh unmodified LITE xbe on the offset that i gave you should say :


I ame using the .xbe that came in with the thc light I got of #xboxdash.  In the offset that you gave I could not find a 32 any where.   I am using cygnus and I found a 00028630 there was nothing in there about partitions.
Logged

EcL|PsE

  • Archived User
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 174
How To Make Thc Lite Run From F
« Reply #12 on: April 21, 2004, 12:47:00 PM »

so i have to do this if i place my thc on my f drive and rename the dfault xbe to evoxdash so it boots?
Logged

Xbox-Savage

  • Archived User
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 857
How To Make Thc Lite Run From F
« Reply #13 on: April 21, 2004, 01:03:00 PM »

QUOTE (EcL|PsE @ Apr 21 2004, 05:40 PM)
so i have to do this if i place my thc on my f drive and rename the dfault xbe to evoxdash so it boots?

yes the first post that i made , the rest is making it run from inside a folder on F.
Logged

Xbox-Savage

  • Archived User
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 857
How To Make Thc Lite Run From F
« Reply #14 on: April 21, 2004, 01:11:00 PM »

QUOTE (bengu @ Apr 21 2004, 04:59 PM)
Quote
did you used the offset that i gave? if you have a fresh unmodified LITE xbe on the offset that i gave you should say :


I ame using the .xbe that came in with the thc light I got of #xboxdash.  In the offset that you gave I could not find a 32 any where.   I am using cygnus and I found a 00028630 there was nothing in there about partitions.

 ;)  what Hex editor are you using?

i use Hex Workshop

go to Edit , Go To, and type the offset , it will take you right to the location that you need to edit.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2