xboxscene.org forums

Author Topic: New Hd Projector  (Read 114 times)

twistedsymphony

• Recovered User
New Hd Projector
« on: March 27, 2007, 07:15:00 AM »

I have an interesting story... I figured I'd share.

I've been researching a new projector for a few months now... I had the money set aside for one (about $2K).

After reading countless reviews, spec comparisons, and post on avsforum.com I narrowed it down to the Optoma HD73 and the Mitsubishi HC3100.

Both are DLP (DC3) 720p projectors with MSRPs around $2K. Since they were both really new I decided to wait for some more people to get them for a better user perspective. Also the HC3100 wasn't available in the US, only Japan so far.  dry.gif

-----

Well yesterday I decided to just checkout some eBay auctions for HC3100 importers (the only way to get them in the states) and some shops for HD73. Both were going for around $1800 from respectable sellers.

But then I noticed that Optoma was offering a deal where if you buy before the end of the month (Saturday) you can get an extra bulb free.

Not only that but VisualApex.com was offering a free 2 year warranty on the bulbs as well as a free OPPO upscaling DVD player.  love.gif

I decided that such a honey of a deal was well worth getting the HD73 over a random eBay auction. Not to mention if I ever need service I'm much more likely to receive it.

-----