xboxscene.org forums

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Why Is It So Common With Big Cars In Usa ?  (Read 166 times)

Rylinkus

• Archived User
Why Is It So Common With Big Cars In Usa ?
« Reply #15 on: July 22, 2004, 09:49:00 PM »

QUOTE (Lorre @ Jul 22 2004, 08:58 PM)
Not really, but if the Honda-people can get 240HP out of a 2litre block, imagine what they could do with a big 5litre V8 or anything like that...

I agree to some degree, but....
1 They haven't ventured into V8s for normal production vehichles.
And
2. (Same as before), Will a 5 liter V8 making 450hp be impressive if Chevy manages on with higher HP numbers, more cylinders, bigger displacement, and yet still gets the same gas numbers? I know you can argue Chevy hasn't made a 10 liter V12, but they could I suppose. Just as Honda COULD make a V8.

Trust me, as an engineer I'm amazed at how well Honda utilizes the small displacement they have. I think over 100hp per liter is awesome. But at the same time they need to get their gas consumption down. Because even if it utilizes more technology I have a hard time saying it's more advanced then Chevy's archaic pushrods when it can't trump Chevy's numbers. To me advanced means better, and I'm not sure it is.

Rylinkus

• Archived User
« Reply #16 on: July 22, 2004, 09:54:00 PM »

QUOTE (PeteHam @ Jul 23 2004, 01:32 AM)
Nice to see Ford does the same thing globally... rolleyes.gif   Not necessarily with the 'big' aspect, but 3 models which are basically the same.

But that's what makes it fun when parts-hunting, right?  "Yeah, those spindles will work on models 1 and 3, but not model 2."

But there are SOO many crossplatform cars now that utlize similar parts and frames. My Ford Probe and a Mazda MX6 and 626 are mechincally identical minus suspension and gear ratios. (Though you can interchange them no problem.) The MX3 shares a lot of common parts with all 3.