xboxscene.org forums

Author Topic: System Link Problem  (Read 88 times)

Mistar Muffin

• Archived User
System Link Problem
« on: November 16, 2004, 08:53:00 PM »

Hey all, I'm a student at the University of South Carolina and I'm having trouble getting system link to work in Halo / Halo 2. Here's the problem. On the second floor of my dorm, we can hook 2-4 xboxs into the network jacks in ANY room and play system link. We don't have to use our own router or switch, we can be in any room on the floor and hook the xbox up to the data jack in the wall. We'll now we're trying to play a system link game between 2 xboxs, one on the second floor and one on the fifth floor. Unfortunately when one box starts a system link game, the other cannot see it. Now, what I find interesting is that I can be on a computer on the second floor and easily ping a computer on the fifth floor........additionally I can access SMB shares and even use remote desktop on systems are on the fifth floor. Now this tells me that they are on the same network and everything SHOULD be kosher. Yet system link in Halo will not see games on a different floor (but it will see games on the same floor). Is there any solution to this? I tried hooking both xboxs up to xbconnect but since I can't forward my ports behind the university firewall I was unable to join my hosted game (even tho I could see it listed). Is there anyway to use xbconnect WITHIN a lan? I mean, I have no problem getting two computers on differen t floors to talk, so maybe if I connect each xbox to a computer on its respective floor and then make the computers talk via xlink, xkai or xbconnect or something. I only checked out xbconnect but there didn't see to be a way to this. Can anyone help me out? If you need any clarification let me know.

dpaul007

• Archived User
System Link Problem
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2004, 11:23:00 AM »

wink.gif