xboxscene.org forums

Author Topic: Newby Needing A Little Bit Of Feedback  (Read 182 times)

russg51

• Archived User
Newby Needing A Little Bit Of Feedback
« on: August 18, 2011, 12:32:00 PM »

hi there guys im thinking of flashing my 360 and was wondering if any of you can help as im new to this kind of thing.

first things first i have dashboard 12625 and a lite on 83850c now i am new to this and doing all the reading i can.

ive read of a new  firmware update lt+1.91 is this correct update to play the latest games and correct for my lite on 83850c.would it still player backups of older games

also before i do my firmware update do i need to update my dash or am ok to run the 12625 or should i update it to 13599 first.

ive just read the pinned bit on this drive and it says dnt use the probe but allover the net it says i have to have the probe for these drives.

if any one could answer this i would be extremely greatful.

Gazc0igne

• Archived User
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2011, 12:54:00 PM »

there are two revisions of 83850 drives, the first can be dumped without any extra equipmrnt, sata cable only, and only on the original fw, if you update the console to 13599 you will not be able to dump the drive without a PMT probe.

the second version of 83850 requires a PMT probe to dump.

you will only be able to tell which version you have when you connect it to computer and try to dump it v1 style, if it works its v1, if it errors out it is v2 and you need a PMT probe.

so, if its v1, fire up jungleflasher and dump the drive, then update the console to 13599 and then reflash the drive with LT1.91

if its v2, update the console to 13599 and then use PMT probe to dump the drive, and then flash LY1.91 to it.

russg51

• Archived User
« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2011, 02:36:00 PM »