xboxscene.org forums

Author Topic: Iprep Lt 12.2.2 And Samsung And Benq  (Read 29 times)

msimon7

• Archived User
Iprep Lt 12.2.2 And Samsung And Benq
« on: August 15, 2010, 08:06:00 PM »

Hello all,
not a total noob, but unfortunately totally lost right now.
I have 2 360s I want to flash to the latest LT firmware.  I have an old samsung m25 that I flashed back in 2006, it was xtreme (3.3 maybe?) using DOSflash on a USB drive.  eventually got banned, then after a while got the RRoD.  
Bought a new arcade version and flashed that with ixtreme 1.3 and then 1.41, both using iPrep.  tried a widows based flash, but didn't work, so i went back to the trusty USB Boot drive technique.  That box has been banned also, eventually got the RROD, but fixed it myself with the washer/arctic silver method and is still going fine.

This weekend I fixed my older samsung RROD and wanted to update both of them to the LT.  I have a winXP box I use for flashing, with the VIA Sata PCI card to connect to the xbox drive (the one from newegg everyone always used to link to in forums).

I first tried the latest JungleFlasher 175 beta.  That starts up fine, but when I powered on the samsung xbox, the whole PC froze.  have seen a few posts about this problem and don't want to deal with windows, so I wanted to go back to iPrep and USB boot flashing.  here's my problem....

I have iPrep 12.2.1 loaded and it updated itself to 12.2.2, but I can't find the latest iPrepltDef.xml anywhere! I have the latest fw for benq (lt 1.2) and samsung (lt 1.0), but without the xml definitions its no good.  just get the message "valid firmware source not selected" when I try and load one of the fw I have.  I tried to put a new entry in the xml file for the samsung, but it didn't take.  plus I don't know the md5 hash key, so i can't say i'd trust the output even if i was able to get it to load the fw (just nervous to screw up the flash)