xboxscene.org forums

Author Topic: Connecting 360 To Vista's Extender  (Read 180 times)

dbldown768

• Archived User
Connecting 360 To Vista's Extender
« on: February 16, 2007, 11:18:00 AM »

So I used to have my 360 setup to work with my laptop's MCE fine.  Now I am trying to setup the 360 to use Vista Ultimate instead.  My 360 was hooked up wireless, but at this point I trying not to even complicate things, so i have hooked my 360 directly up to my router, which is a D-link (WBR-2310).  My pc is connected to the same router as well.  Vista's Media center does see that a 360 is on the network and pop's up a box to setup the extender.  I go though all the motions of putting in the keys and I always get an error "configuring" the connection.  In the event view, it shows the same error -209.   I know a bunch of people have had this problem.  Can anyone help?  I have tried changing network settings, whatever, but since im new to vista I'm not sure what might need to be turned on.  I should point out that I do not have Windows Firewall turned on as well.

Shit: just looked in the pinned topic, can someone move this thread.... thanks.

This post has been edited by dbldown768: Feb 16 2007, 07:20 PM

too2buff

• Archived User
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2007, 09:15:00 PM »

the way I fixed my connecting / configuring error was to set everything to DCHP through the router and not use static ip addresses.  That fixed everything

why I have no idea but for some reason vista didn't like when I had static ip addresses assigned

hope this helps

dbldown768

• Archived User
« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2007, 08:08:00 AM »

I have tried the same thing, with no luck.  I just hooked up everything DHCP and still nothing works.  Also, i just hooked up my pc and my 360 to the same router, nothing else on the network.  Are there any special network settings that need to be enabled, or file sharing settings?  How about special services?

dbldown768

• Archived User