xboxscene.org forums

Author Topic: Xbmc From Dvd?  (Read 313 times)

gottimanu

• Archived User
Xbmc From Dvd?
« on: June 07, 2004, 07:18:00 AM »

ive burned ALL my xbox fles on dvdrw to start them from dvd and i am able toplay xbox live :-)
but when i wanna start XBMC from EvoX it says something like an error or so.
can someone help me? im not a newbie just new at starting from dvd  ;)
cya

nimbles

• Archived User
Xbmc From Dvd?
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2004, 07:42:00 AM »

keeping your modded files on dvd won't ensure you won't get banned from live- the fact the bios is hacked to run unsigned code (e.g. launch backups and evox bootdisks) is what will get you banned and you are doing that anyway

but yeah its possible, if using xbmc as your "dash" create an xiso from the contents of the rar file, and edit network settings and stuff to suit your set up- if you are intending to eject xbmc and play an avi once xbmc is loaded, i doubt that will work.

the other option is to burn all the movies you want to play with xbmc (setting up the the vodeo music share in the xboxmediacenter.xml) but that then means you have to create an xiso so that the dvd is more likely to boot, and essentially that disc is then useless in anything other than an xbox drive- would be better to run xbmc of the hd, then burn your movies/music in udf or iso format and that way tou can at least use them in a pc or standalone divx player too

would be better if you are that paranoid about live, to keep mod related stuff on your f: partition as a stock xbox doesn't have an f: and so m$ shouldn't be even see the f:

edit the bios to boot from the f: partition and you have an xbox that to all intents and purposes is unmodded

opjose

• Archived User
Xbmc From Dvd?
« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2004, 08:32:00 AM »

There is no need to burn in GDF (XISO) format.

XBMC works just fine on an XP compatible UDF format disk.

If a disk will read in GDF it will also read in UDF formats.