xboxscene.org forums

Author Topic: New Hacking Venue  (Read 43 times)

Aggressive Taco

• Archived User
New Hacking Venue
« on: July 23, 2008, 01:56:00 AM »

I haven't been in the hacking scene for too long...mostly on xbins and xbins-help and recently fw on efnet.  I got in during the days of the splinter cell exploits on the original xbox and I've had experience hacking most 360 drives.  Most of that is besides the point, I don't really have hacking experience but I was thinking a few minutes ago and an idea hit me.

What of a possible device that could emulate the Xbox 360 DVD Drive, but connect to a USB port on a computer and read backup .dvd/.iso's.  Good backups are becoming harder and harder to make nowadays what with Verbatim moving their production to other countries and RITEK being what it is.

I have read numerous article on xbox 360 security, and watched the one video on deconstructing xbox 360 security, so I have some knowledge in the area - not a lot - but wouldn't such a usb device open up tons of venues for hacking?  Such a device could give us power to hotswap precisely, during specific routines, and possibly gain control over the machine.

I could be wrong, as I am no expert in Xbox 360 security but I'd appreciate the community sharing thoughts with me on this.  Even if the hotswapping possibilities aren't possible, would making such a device be possible?  The xbox 360 simply issues a command to the dvd drive to fetch data from a specific track on the disc, so a third party device could read that command and respond with the correct data (a section of whatever disc we want the xbox to receive).  We already have the dumps from every firmware (excluding lite-on of course whose code never leaves the drive) so all that would be needed is a set of drivers or a host application.