xboxscene.org forums

Author Topic: Firmware Update - Bricked 360? Help  (Read 154 times)

Fraudster

• Archived User
Firmware Update - Bricked 360? Help
« on: May 18, 2006, 04:29:00 AM »

Hi All,

Firstly... I'm no pro... but im not a n00b either, i found the whole firmware update very easy, lets put it that way. Hope that give an idea of what i can and cant do.

I followed the tutorial from start to finish and completed all of the steps...

I managed to backup th firmware and that stored safely on 4 differant devices (you can never be too sure).

When i backed it up i noticed it got to 100% and started again.. it did this about 5 times, is this normal? i gather that just each bank it was backing up?

I then booted into windows and examined the floppy disk and lone-behold a 256k bios fine sitting on there called ORIG.

I then opened this with win hex... and located offset 4000 and copied all of the text between 4000 and 4200.

I then proceeded to open extreme.bin in win hex... located the above offsets and pasted into them. (Maybe ive got this bit wrong or put code in wrong place).

I then flashed the bios from the dos bootable floppy... it went ok... said each bank was ok and overall 100%fine.

At this point i re-assembled the 360 fully, i should of tested it first.... but halfway through putting it back together... i remembered that id forgot to plug sata back into to xbox dvd drive, so i took it all apart again and attached cable, forgot to check if power was securely connected (should of been i never touched it).

I proceeded to re-assamble the whole unit for the second time... at this point it was very late 3am GMT. and i didnt have the xbox connected to the tv... but anyway i turned xbox on and the green ring comes on as tho everything is ok and after about 5 seconds it was giving one red flashing light. bottom right i think.

I was too tired to persue it any further at that time.