xboxscene.org forums

Author Topic: Possible Save Creation Exploit....  (Read 150 times)

Cookiesrus

• Archived User
Possible Save Creation Exploit....
« on: June 01, 2006, 04:52:00 PM »

i posted this over at xboxhacker.net as wans.

Hi,

First off i would like to let you know i know the pirs containers are signed and so far uneditable due to the signature.
While browsing the GRAW disc i came accross a png file which i got a friend to edit in photoshop, im total noob when it comes to ps.

I was hoping that this file represented the game you were currently playing but i later found out it was to represent your save file.

I found the offset for the image in the iso (0E0C27000) and replaced it with the edited one, and zero'd out the remaining data until the old picture was totally removed. Ithen burnt the disc and started a campaign to create a save.

he rest with pics is here - XBH thread

jtom617

• Archived User
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2006, 04:59:00 PM »

cool job man, i like those pics, thats really sweet! love.gif

lordvader129

• Archived User
« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2006, 05:18:00 PM »

injecting a texture is a far cry from a softmod, and with the buffer overflow protection the 360 has i doubt it will lead to a softmod, but its a neat trick nonetheless

Cookiesrus

• Archived User
« Reply #3 on: June 01, 2006, 05:36:00 PM »

QUOTE(lordvader129 @ Jun 2 2006, 12:25 AM) View Post

injecting a texture is a far cry from a softmod, and with the buffer overflow protection the 360 has i doubt it will lead to a softmod, but its a neat trick nonetheless

Yeah i thought of this too, but maybes using the right disc, custom gamerpics or themes maybe possible.

Its a simple thing to do, cost a DL to try it.  And maybe with more experimentation, and further research into what content is carried on discs, possibly more fun.
The NEAT part of this is that it inserts your modified file into a container then SIGNS it, maybe some thing there?