xboxscene.org forums

Author Topic: Lindows On Xbox  (Read 57 times)

oberon_black

• Archived User
Lindows On Xbox
« on: January 22, 2005, 06:00:00 PM »

Hey all,
I want to use my XBOX as a full use desktop and as a gaming console.  I have been told that I can put Linux on my BOX, so I wanted to know if I could was Lindows or Linspire as the Linux version.  If so how do I install it and has anyone do this before?  I would love to see some different screenshots of linux versions on an XBOX especially the gui versions.  Please help me work this out, I am a noob to this so I do require step-by-step.

Thanks

HeadBangingMonkey

• Archived User
Lindows On Xbox
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2005, 03:07:00 AM »

I'm no linux expert but a few linux distros have been made to work on xbox.

Gentoo/Gentoox - No tried it, but I get the impression its very good and worth while trying.
Debian/Xebian - I use this, very good but I find I need to update lots of libraries and change the GUI etc.
Red Hat 7 - Not being worked on any more, not very well supported, dont bother.
dyne:bolic - Don't know anything about this, but I get the impression it doesn't work on 1.4 or higher xboxes.

I suggest you try either Gentoox or Xebian. If you want something with a nice GUI then just install one. It depends what your personal preference is but KDE3 is a good start.

In Xebian just type "apt-get install kdebase" at a terminal.

Hope this helps

luther349

• Archived User
Lindows On Xbox
« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2005, 11:31:00 AM »

gentoox is a full distro as well as debain that works on the xbox. lindows will never be ported couse its not supported by any linux people.

chimpanzee

• Archived User
Lindows On Xbox
« Reply #3 on: January 23, 2005, 12:58:00 PM »

You should be able to make any distro runs on Xbox as all it needs is a xbox compatible kernel and a special nv_xbox driver for X(even that is optional if you don't mind vesa driver).