xboxscene.org forums

Author Topic: How Do I Play Divx Files?  (Read 80 times)

startstatic

• Archived User
How Do I Play Divx Files?
« on: January 01, 2008, 09:38:00 PM »

Sorry I'm a noob. If you could please answer my question and then criticize me after. I have DIVX files burned to a DVD-R and the files won't play, I don't know what the deal is. Should I just convert them to AVI or how do I solve this? Is there somewhere I can check to see what version of xbox software I have? I need a way to just play the files if its converting them fine.

If its downloading some software to my windows xp and streaming them thats fine also. I have been looking for solutions but can't find jack and I know they are out there! Please help, I would like to just put a disc in and have them play!

This post has been edited by startstatic: Jan 2 2008, 05:48 AM

startstatic

• Archived User
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2008, 08:27:00 AM »

WOW 28 views and not even one single response... THANKS "COMMUNITY"

jamsplodge

• Archived User
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2008, 08:40:00 AM »

Well do you want people to come on and say... "sorry, don't know"? These Divx files you have.  Are they files with the extension .divx?  If so just rename them to .avi and the 360 should recognise a divx file and download the codec (if you have a connection to live) I figure you probably need a hard drive too.  360 will NOT recognise files with the .divx extension.  You shouldn't need to do any actual conversions other than renaming, which means that unfortunately your disc is wasted.  I would try streaming using WMP11 before writing the files to discs.

This post has been edited by jamsplodge: Jan 2 2008, 04:42 PM

startstatic

• Archived User
« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2008, 07:27:00 PM »

thank you so much. sorry about what was said above, i was having a bad day. i appreciate your response! i'll try it tonight.

startstatic

• Archived User
« Reply #4 on: January 03, 2008, 07:49:00 PM »