xboxscene.org forums

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Chaos Theory Co-op Hacking  (Read 470 times)

BlindGeep

• Archived User
Chaos Theory Co-op Hacking
« on: July 15, 2005, 01:52:00 PM »

Hi

I'm new to this hacking lark, so if I make mistakes, go easy on me.

My and my mates regularly attempt to beat Chaos Theoery's co-op mode, often without success. We're not the best players, and we're certainly not the stealthiest, which is why I statrted to read up on how people have hacked Rainbow Six and Splinter Cell.

I'd like to say a big thank you to the people who have done the ground work and investigation of the UMD files.

I simply want to use this thread to discuss the thiungs i've found when trying to 'hack' the co-op settings, and to request help from the community in order to try and extend Splinter Cell's lifespan.

My initial aims when hacking were:
1. Increase the ammo in the guns
2. Add in the various attachments to the loadouts
3. Add the ability to whistle in co-op
4. Increase the number of syringes you get
5. Increase the maps available

Initial Findings:

General...
- As others have said, invest in a good Hex Editor, and use this to edit the dynamicxbox.umd file
- Keep backups...
- Format your cache drives after copying your umd file...

1. Increasing Ammo
Easy... Open the umd, do an ascii search for [Loadout_Host], and change the Ammo, Grenades etc numbers, anywhere from 0 to 9. If you set Sticky Cameras to 9, you get 10... no idea why... I tried testing the numbers to see if they'd accept a hex number, i.e. F for 16, but it doesn't work. However, since you can swap items in game and go beyond 9, i'm guessing that if we can change the file size, we can probably get up to 99.

2. Attachments