xboxscene.org forums

Author Topic: Updating The Codecs To Play My Xvids  (Read 147 times)

brandonba

• Archived User
Updating The Codecs To Play My Xvids
« on: April 14, 2005, 12:50:00 AM »

Anybody update their codec to play xvids?  mine just play the audio. i got a codec pack put it in no dice.

kkattfish

• Archived User
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2005, 12:59:00 AM »

use xbmc plays everything i have seen so far

brandonba

• Archived User
« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2005, 03:48:00 PM »

I like xbmp better.  the picture is better.

Conundrum1911

• Archived User
« Reply #3 on: April 21, 2005, 05:53:00 AM »

I'm trying to figure out how to update the xvid codec in xbmp myself (it has to be done with both the uncomplied source of xvid and xbmp)...I'm not a programmer but I think if I pick at it over time I'll get it up and running properly using the last xbmp cvs and the latest stable build of xvid.

If I can get it to work, I'll see if I can upload it to the "usual places", that way others like yourself can get it as well.

And if ppl are wondering why I would go to the trouble....I've tried almost every version of xbmc since its release, and none of them looked as clear and as vivid as xbmp does/did (its like xbmp is running in 24/32-bit colour mode, whereas xbmc is running at 16-bit)

so dispite the fact that most ppl prefer xbmc, there are some of us who still hold a candle to xbmp instead.

SigTom

• Archived User
« Reply #4 on: April 23, 2005, 03:24:00 AM »

This has been asked and answered before (yes about XBMP).  So search and ye shall find.  If ya dont find it, ya aint looking hard enough, I see 3 diff posts in my search results now.

Oh, and get your eyes checked if you think that XBMC picture qulaity is inferior to XBMP.   Better yet, get your eyes checked and get a HDTV.

This post has been edited by SigTom: Apr 23 2005, 10:26 AM

Dolfhin

• Archived User
« Reply #5 on: April 23, 2005, 06:52:00 AM »

QUOTE(brandonba @ Apr 14 2005, 09:54 PM)